Dream Do Come True

Ever since I was a kid, Ken Griffey Jr. has been my favorite baseball player.  And now, living in Cincinnati, I can enjoy watching Junior right in my backyard.  Allow me to take you down memory lane and explain how he became my favorite player….

It was 1989, I bought a pack of baseball cards from Toys ‘R Us.  It was a pack of Donruss, and inside was a Ken Griffey Jr. Rookie Card.  It was my first card that was worth more than $1.50.  It was from that day on, Junior was my favorite player.  Not to mention, the shoes I wore of his in Jr. High were amazing.  Sure, the teal and black never matched anything, but who cares!

This brings me to today.  I just purchased the card I have always wanted….A 1989 Upper Deck Ken Griffey Jr. Rookie Card.  Today is a good day.  One of my dreams has come true.  Next stop, watching Lebron James play and writing a book.

3 thoughts on “Dream Do Come True

  1. Pastor Aarron says:

    Glad to see you are living out your dream(s). So is this book going to be about seeing LeBron James play basketball??

  2. Nate says:

    Remember our obsession with those baseball cards? And by the way, I checked the prices recently while in a Barnes and Noble, and the value of his rookie cards (and all cards in general) have gone down. I think it’s down to like $40 now, instead of the over $100 around 2000.

  3. Cathi Hassan says:

    Before long we may all get to see him hit number 600. I wonder if you could even be there when he does?

Leave a Reply

