Even John the Apostle Got Tired of Social Media

Okay, maybe the title is a little bit of a stretch.  But, before you sue me for false advertising, check out this verse found in 2 John:

12 I have much to write to you, but I do not want to use paper and ink. Instead, I hope to visit you and talk with you face to face, so that our joy may be complete.

See, I wasn’t too far off here.  Even Jesus’ beloved disciple had frustrations with the social media of the day.  Just writing to his brothers and sisters in the faith was not enough.  He needed something more, he needed face time (and no, I’m not talking about the iPhone equivalent to Skype)

As I read this verse, it begged some questions, especially those that are in ministry:

  1. Do we have too much social media?  While it is valuable in connected to others, keeping track of what is happening in other people’s lives, and is a source of encouragement…it can also become a huge distraction, a definite social-media-overloadtime-waster, and at times a temptation.
    1. I mean, it has gotten to the point where I can find out what football coach has been hired before the team announces it.  You can know the news before it even becomes news (see:  Manti Te’o Twitter Craziness).
  2. Do we not have enough face to face?  This was the Apostle John’s complaint way back in the early 100’s.  Times have not changes.  Even with airplanes, cars, buses, and trains over the last 2000 years, we have allowed computers to get in the way of our face to face time.  Case and point:  You ever hang out with high school students and every one of them is texting…some even to people in the same room!  We need more face to face!
  3. Do we hide behind our computers & tweets?  Would you be as bold in your meeting with others as you are on your status or your tweet?  Do you use your keyboard as a confrontation tool?  I’ve always tried to follow this rule of thumb “Never have a serious conversation over the computer”.  There may be some exceptions to that rule, but overall is a good goal to shoot for.

This frustration is not new.  Technology may be always changing, but something remains the same, we should always strive to meet people face to face, in their homes, at a coffee shop, or on the street.  Show Christ love to someone today IN PERSON.  That’s your goal, and let me know how it goes!

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Even John the Apostle Got Tired of Social Media

  1. Phil Shimer says:

    Had a co-worker who is going through a hard time and I really wanted to encourage him today. We always chat on instant message because he is in another office and we can communicate quicker and easier through IM. Many days we even shoot the breeze through this platform. Today however I really wanted to encourage him through what has been going on in his life and so I thought about shooting him and message. Instead, I waited until we ran into each other and went for it. The talk went deeper than it probably would have had I just shot him a quick message. Great challenge, thanks!

  2. jeff beckley says:

    Thanks Phil for sharing. Praise the Lord! I’ve been challenging myself to have less desk time (although that is very important as well), and really begin investing in people’s lives. I’m looking forward to where that might take me. Your story encouraged me today. Thanks for taking the time to share.

Leave a Reply

