“Love Does” Book Review

Love Does

The Good:

In a word:  Inspirational.  Recently, I have had this desire not to live an ordinary life.  So I picked up to books to help feed this desire:  Love Does & Don’t Waste Your Life.  Bingo!  The American dream of education, job, nice house & things, and nice retirement is not my dream.  My dream is to affect people with the Gospel, to impact people through ministry & giving, and turn people to Jesus by representing His name well.  Notice all these are ACTION.  That’s what this book is about:  ACTION of a follower of Christ.

Enough talk!  “Love Does” is all about loving others with actions.  Each chapter is a story from the author’s life, and he is able to segway that story to a gospel-centered application.  And these stories will blow you away, make you laugh, tug at your heart strings, and again, inspire you.

Proceeds go to help build a school in Uganda.  How bout that for good?!?

The Bad:

There were a couple theological points that I wasn’t completely on the same page.  As you read, there are sometimes where the author uses opinion of God’s view on things and allows the reader to take them as factual.  Also, more Scripture was needed for the Christian principles that were emphasized in each chapter.

The Grade:  B+

Great book.  I was excited each time I picked it up to see what crazy story was next, and how it relates to my Savior.  A must-read for those stuck in a rut, for those that want their life to have meaning, for those that are ready to live an exciting life of following Christ and reaching others.  This was just what the doctor ordered.  This wasn’t a book I wanted to read, this was a book I NEEDED to read.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on ““Love Does” Book Review

  1. Grace Mack says:

    So neat that proceeds go to helping those in Uganda! I will put it on my list to read in the near future!

Leave a Reply

