How to Build a Spiritual Home – Conclusion

If you learned anything from these blog posts on “How to Build a Spiritual Home”, it would be that it is hard work, and all of us have much to learn, do better, or correct.  You see a home is not built by one swing of the hammer, or one pull of the electric drill trigger…it takes time, it takes effort, and it takes the proper foundation.

Let’s conclude with one of the more familiar passages of parenting:  Proverbs 22:6 – Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.

Some of you may that know me already know this, but one of my best GPSfriends is my GPS.  I am fairly directionally challenged.  That little lady, who I named Gabby Garmin, tells me turn-by-turn how to get there, and if I make a wrong turn she is there to tell when to “make a legal U-turn”.  Without that little device, it is unlikely I will get to my destination, or if I do, I will have to ask someone else for directions or risk being lost.

Listen, what this verse is saying is that you ARE the GPS for your child.  It is your duty, responsibility to tell your child how to get to where they should go.  And when they make a wrong turn, you have the opportunity to teach them how to make a “legal U-turn”.  And listen, this part is key, without you…they will most likely look to others for direction – which could include peers, the media, or just themselves…and you risk your child being lost.

So I encourage you, use every opportunity you can to teach and guide your child.  Never stop teaching, guiding, & listening.  And you do that by building a foundation of God’s Word & a consistency in serving in God’s house, godly modeling and discipline, and finally love & attention.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

