In the Middle of the Night…A Superhero Emerged

index

(IN HONOR OF MOTHER’S DAY…I’M GOING TO REPOST THIS)

What does a hero look like? This weekend, yet another superhero movie makes its debut. Can’t say I’m not excited about it (I may or may not be going with some college students to opening night…come on, it’s Batman!). Not sure what sparked this deluge of superhero movies. Was it the success of the first Spider-man, which was masterfully done?   Or could it be the Batman trilogy that Christopher Nolan compiled that quite possible had the best ending of any movie ever? In walks Ironman, Captain America, and Thor to set up the blockbuster Avenger movies.

Our culture is obsessed with superheroes. From the little kids that dress up as Incredible Hulk and Spider-man for Halloween to the big kids, like yours truly, who get way too excited about the upcoming movies featuring their favorite childhood heroes. Then there’s those that know the difference between Marvel and DC and will look at you like you cannot add 2+2, if you do not know which superhero belongs to which comic empire. Not gonna call the Nerd Squad on you if you do, but Best Buy is hiring (and if you were going to argue that Best Buy is Geek Squad, I rest my case).

But what does a true hero look like? Is a hero someone who has a cape, a super power, superhuman strength, or a genetic mutation? Is a hero only those that grace the cover a comic book? Are the heroes the ones that drive the box office? (I mean…is Ant Man a sign that we are running out of characters?)

The upcoming Batman v Superman is not the only reason I bring this up. Last night, I saw a superhero at my house in the middle of the night. It’s true. But there was no cape, no super power, not even a weapon…

Before I reveal the superhero, let me give you a little background. If you know me, my kryptonite is vomit. That’s right, whatever you want to call it. Technicolor yawn, bowing down to the porcelain throne, yak, ralph…whatever you call it, it’s my biggest fear. Why? Let’s just say it was a combination of a horrific experience of the stomach flu outbreak at camp and bad seat placement during a 3rd grade lunch.

But now, with kids…it’s a whole new level. If you like horror movies, this tops the list. Think about it. At night, as you try to sleep, you hear a cough. It’s coming!!!! Run for your lives! Take cover! Every man for himself! Freddy Kruger ain’t got nothing on 4 kids sharing a stomach virus. If he was in my house last night, I think he would have run away too.

That’s right…the horror movie was a reality last night in the Beckley home. Like an outbreak with no antidote…the stomach flu. It began with the oldest, then it hit me…then we knew…we’ve reach DEFCON 2.

So who was the hero in this horrific experience? Me? Let me put it this way. If this was a Batman movie, I might have gotten the Alfred role if I was lucky. The superhero was my wife. Her cape was the countless towels she used in cleanup. Her superpower was her composure amidst the reruns of meals from days gone by. No weapons…but she did have medicine, Lysol, and a full washer.

BnXkGvVIAAABf-jIf you asked Batman to do what my wife did last night…Christian Bale would probably go off on set (like he would ever do that). Superman would probably fly as far away as possible. And Incredible Hulk’s face would be green, but not because he was mad.

Hopping from room to room, wiping up pools of puke, changing laundry, getting them medicine, checking temperatures, staying up all night…suddenly Thor’s hammer doesn’t seem so impressive, does it?

I was there to help where I could, but she knew. She knew I couldn’t get too close to the kryptonite or it would bring me to my knees. She was a superhero last night, and I was that token little boy in all those movies with his mouth open saying “Whoa, did you see that?”

So this weekend, even when I see Batman fight off a dozen bad guys by himself and Superman leap over buildings and heat up his microwave dinner with his eyes…they pale in comparison to my wife. She is the one with the “S” on her chest. She may not have a bat signal in the sky, but she is called upon many times in the dead of night.

I honestly don’t know how she does it day in and day out. Maybe she does have superpowers after all.

super-mom-cape-cartoon-copy

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

