As For Me and My Crazy House – BOOK REVIEW

The Good:

The overarching quality of this book is the realness.  The author’s transparency of his family life is both refreshing and re-assuring, that pastor’s families don’t have it all together, and it is as times crazy.  But, the book does a great job at providing insight of developing balance with family and ministry.

You know it is a good book when there are statements or ideas that will be lifelong “sticks”.  What I mean by “sticks” is these are things that I hope to do within my lifetime, or within the time my children are still in my home.  Examples would be the “moving of the fulcrum” on page 94, or turning off the cell phone and turning attention to the kids, finding a mentor, dating your wife, one-on-one time with your kids, the long distance race of parenting…just to name a few.  You may read this list and think those are all no brainers…yeah, but don’t you want practical ways to accomplish all those things.  This book will provide that for you, with humor and realness!

The Bad:

The transparency went a little far sometimes, for example, the mention of the “mom thongs”.  Didn’t really need that mental picture.  Overall, I thought the final parent chapter was good, but some could interpret it as “light discipline” parenting.  I’m guessing that was not the intent, but need to be careful in how you read it.  Don’t let it excuse you from disciplining your kids.  Other than that, it’s hard to find more faults.

Conclusion:

If reading was a race, I would be the tortoise.  So I enjoy books that are easy reads, fun to read, and fully practical to my everyday life.  I took my time with this book, reading just a few minutes each night and was almost disappointed when it was all dine.  Overall, this was a life-changing, fully practical, ministry & family building…book.  I hated it.  Just kidding.  Of course, I am recommending you give it a try!

Grade:  A-

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “As For Me and My Crazy House – BOOK REVIEW

  1. mrswagner06 says:

    I think I just found my next book to read and one to pass on to my husband too. Thank you!

  2. Brian says:

    I’m not the best at finding my reviews online, but tonight I did some searching due to some guest blogging I’m doing. Anyway… thanks for the review… 2 years later. #haha. Good thing my book was not about internet efficiency 🙂

    • Jeff Beckley says:

      Brian, it’s an honor to have you drop by my blog. I truly enjoyed your book. I have recommended it to many of my youth pastor friends seeking help with ministry/life balance. One cool thing was we both married a Shannon, so it was very easy to apply the marriage/spouse advice to my life. Thanks again for your book! You can count on my recommendation any time.

Leave a comment